bumblebee.png

SOUND

*Adele’s voice* Hello, it’s me!

Let’s roll right on in and waste no time. Sound… it’s everywhere right? Sometimes I long for an unearthly quietness like Jad Abumrad mentions in his talk about radio and empathy, but that’s not really reality. Let me take a moment to backtrack, and touch on the video clip from Good Will Hunting with only the audio. The minute I pressed play, I wrote down “wind” on my piece of paper. Then, I wrote down the words: outside, birds, park? dog bark, “did I hear a car?” and so on and so forth. I was definitely one of the curious ones, so I clicked on the actual clip after I was done #justlistening (see what I did there?) and most of my guesses were right. There is so much to pay attention to in the environment, but one doesn’t have to actually be looking at something.

Let us speedeth up again, and get back into what Jad was talking about. Now, I think it can go without saying (but I’ll say it anyway) that I started trying to picture the words that I had wrote down on my piece of paper. What kind of park was it? Small or big? Was there a kid’s play area near by? Is the area where the characters were sitting close to the street, or were they further into the park and that is why the sirens seemed so distant? Unsure if this is absolutely correct, but I believe Professor Levine wrote out the course announcement for week 5, and by taking away the visuals to the scene from the movie, he has already thrust the entire class into a space of co-authoring. This concept reminds me of the comment Amy Burvall made in the studio visit about tinkering; she noted that just by having someone else contribute to something even in the slightest way adds that much more meaning not only to the project, but to the maker as well. The love portion of the webinar might have been finished when she made this comment, but it was a great point!

So there was a suggested project of visiting the archives of a podcast called  The Truth Podcast, and I chose to step into the world of “Where Have You Been?”, which is a story about someone who has been gone a very long time and then shows up again. Now, I know that that brief description just sounded very boring, but I promise it is not that bad. The story that I listened to was bold, heartbreaking, and so intriguingly comfortable in its own silence until that is the very thing that it feeds itself on. I begin the podcast and start taking notes about the menacing music before a voice chimes in. Immediately, I start making characters out of the varying voices that I hear shifting in and out of dialogue. What are the connections? Who are they talking to? Who is Tyler? I did receive answers to my questions, and as Ira Glass pointed out in the talk about the building blocks of radio, the ability for the writer/author/maker/creator etc. to raise those kinds of questions is the bait.

Poetry

The in class activity with blackout poetry was fun and exciting. I knew what blackout poetry was, but I never did too much of it outside of maybe an exercise or two in high school. I got really into it and asked for a second sheet of paper to create a second sentence. Check both of them out below ( I have places a typed out version of the message next to the actual picture):

In my search of other people’s sentences, I found that even if they do not match up completely, Dr. Zamora’s sentence really compliments mine! I find various poetic qualities about the way in which her sentence begins, and adds repetition to my already chosen words “in the morning”. We are both alluding to a sort of dream state, and then a coming together with our use of dawn.

Fansplaining Fanfiction

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-11-41-46-pm

One studio visit that I did not bombard this time 🙂 happened to be such a joy to watch. Flourish Klink and Elizabeth Minkel have very distinct personalities, and I got a kick out of watching them and listening to their ideas about fan culture around fan fiction. I don’t necessarily tag myself as someone who is into fanfiction, but this does not mean that I am not giving it a chance. I started to grasp the idea of what fan fiction was in my early teenage years, but I didn’t read it or write it. I feel like I learned so much about the culture just by listening to what they had to say about the social aspects and some of the core values that they feel are pertinent. I honestly do believe that this community has the potential to incite change in the world just as we discussed netprov making strides in this very digital time, but I also believe that the heart of the conversation didn’t begin until the entire class began to speak out it when we met for class on Wednesday night.

Hailey ended up mentioning the notion of privilege and accessibility (trailing from Quanesha’s thoughtful comments of why African American children didn’t gravitate toward the fan fiction community) before I could bring it up, but she is absolutely right in her sentiments. That portion of the discussion really struck a chord with me because it is a very real factor that a lot of people do not think about precisely because of what they always had. I could list reasons as to why I am able to sit in our Digital Storytelling course every Wednesday as a graduate student receiving a degree that I blessed to not have to come out of pocket for, but I could also list about a thousand other reasons as to why another young man or woman is not in my position, and I think the same goes for the discussion that was being held around communities like the fan fiction one and where it starts, at what age, and why.

reflect

I think I would like to leave this post, and its heavier content, on that very strong note and gravitate now toward this past week in general. I am still enjoying checking the daily digital alchemy every single day, as well as doing the ones that seem to inspire me. I think it’s really cool to see what others could come up with for one that either didn’t excite me, or that I did not get a chance to do yet. I have always loved how different people’s minds were and why people think the way that they do, so I have a blast just scrolling through the search #netnarr. I am always excited (and sometimes nervous :p) about what the next week will hold, but I am confident that it is only going up from here!

PS- For those of you who were wondering what my four icons story was alluding to… here you go

41a1vAwmJ8L.jpg

clip-art-smiley-face-microsoft-clipart-panda-free-clipart-images-OzoUNj-clipart.gif

5 thoughts on “Sound: Unclogging the ears; closing the blinds on poetry.

  1. Richonda,

    Another great post! I love to follow the lines of your thinking. The comments in yesterday’s hangout (Amy’s contributions in particular) were definitely keepers, no? I love how she captured the magic of contribution felt both by the community, and also by the contributor. I also love checking in periodically with the #netnarr stream, and seeing what is flowing on by. I know I miss beautiful things, but I have learned to let go of that pang of FOMO and guilt, and just let the magic unfold with and without me.

    And yes, the probing of Quanesha’s question about the underrepresentation of young women of color (and young African-Ams in general) in fanfic communities, followed by Hailey’s incisive observation of what makes certain things possible (or impossible) was a key moment last week. So resonant and important to lay bear. We are “on the same page”. I have been thinking more about how participatory cultures require certain conditions to thrive. We must understand such truths (and be able to identify such realities) in order to strive and imagine better futures together.

    Dr. Zamora

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Richonda,
    I really enjoyed/appreciated your reflection on our various activities. I am also one of the curious ones, always clicking on whatever Alan puts up–it’s always going to be interesting!
    I always say, “Life likes to rhyme,” and it was cool to see how you noticed Mia’s poem complimented yours–that’s a rhyme (spellcheck wanted me to say “that’s a thyme” which works, too!) It is what Howard Rheingold referred to as “reading signals.”

    Good to touch in with you!
    Sandy Brown Jensen, Open Participant
    http://sandybrownjensen.tumblr.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sandy. I am so glad to know that you enjoyed it! Ia appreciate that motto “Life like to rhyme; it is a very different and thoughtful way to look at things!

      Like

Leave a Reply

