This might be my shortest blog post thus far; I am actually not sure, so let us find out. I am going to play around with two ideas from this past week. One of my ideas has to do with this storied campus business… this ingenious idea that has been presented to my class. If you need the concept explained in cliches then: everything is not what it seems, there is more to this than meets the eye, never judge a book by its cover and so on. I did not post my story on the shared padlet (between Kean students and students from the University of Wollongong), but I will soon.

When someone asks me why I chose Kean, or what makes the school great I almost do not know what to say. I didn’t choose Kean, but I won’t barf up some sappy “it chose me” either because I don’t know that it did. All I know is that my University in CT was expensive, and I wanted to be a part of a different literary program. I didn’t feel that the school offered much to me in the way of an English degree, but I can be mistaken… I honestly don’t know. At that point, I was almost an official student at Ramapo until I found out that they were going to screw me over by basically holding me back with a year-and-a-half worth of courses that I know I already completed and/or didn’t really need.

Any who, neither the undergraduate English program that I graduated from nor the graduate writing studies program that I am currently in at Kean comes to my mind first when trying to answer those types of questions, but only because that is not Kean in a nutshell. If I were to express to someone what Kean is, I would have to say to them that Kean is beautiful and weird at the same time…

It’s the late night conversations about writing center conferences held in Starbucks until they close. It’s the walks with your teammates to the dorm cafeteria after a two hour tennis practice. It’s the conversations about The Office, Gilmore Girls, and stale coffee case studies at the Writing Center. It’s the camaraderie, trust, and home you feel when you see your fellow graduate classmates for the first time in a day. It’s being surrounded by like-minded individuals twice a night that pray to the God that you believe in without judgment, without hate… with nothing but love. It’s opening up at work every morning, and staring out of the window at the rain, or coming together with old friends and discussing opinions and implications of various Marvel series. Kean is the feeling you get in the pit of your stomach before giving a big speech and the smile on your face after your first meal of the day. It is all of the little things. I can’t possibly list or explain all of those little things. The people are what make Kean… each and every individual life and that cannot possibly be summed up in a blog post, but bear with me.

My second point of discussion from this past week is centered around the very wonderful and spontaneous set of readings last week. I must say that even THAT right there is more of what Kean is about than what anyone can kind on the homepage of our website. I have never been more moved or touched by my fellow classmates. I am surrounded by such talent and I can’t even wrap my head around it. I will not be including a recording of the poems that I read that night just yet, but I will provide links to two of them.

“Sara Baartman”

“Semi Sweet”

These two poems right here mean the absolute world to me. At a time where I had been just as lost as I can ever remember feeling, I sat down and wrote both of these poems in about 10-15 minutes after thoroughly bawling like a child at the stories that I had just read. I do not know if they will ever be revised, and I am hoping they can transfer over to be a part of my thesis if everything goes as planned, but I had experienced a level of passion writing these two pieces that hadn’t found way into my soul for quite some time. I hope that you enjoy them.

 

Peace, love, soul,

Richonda

Leave a Reply

