Hillsong

I chose to do the 98th DDA: Google Translate Roulette with a Christian song that I always listen to called “Cornerstone” by Hillsong. I absolutely love this song and it’s melodies, and the words are near and dear to my heart. In addition, most of my coworkers, colleagues, and friends know that I incorporate my african heritage into the things I do even if I do not know all that I should about my ancestor’s culture. I strive to learn as much as I can every single day, and at least educate myself during my time on earth, having no regrets about what I didn’t seek out when I was alive.

Any who, that little tangent sort of confirms why I chose to translate the lyrics into the Afrikaans language. I am fascinated by this language and the way that it sounds, so I chose this one in particular. Afrikaans is the daughter language of Dutch and it is spoken in various areas in South Africa. I will paste the lyrics to “Cornerstone” first in English, then translated in Afrikaans, and finally in English again translated FROM Afrikaans.

 Cornerstone by Hillsong | IN ENGLISH

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When Darkness seems to hide His face
I rest on His unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil
My anchor holds within the veil

Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all
He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone
Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone; cornerstone
Weak made strong; in the Saviour’s love
Through the storm, He is Lord
Lord of all

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless stand before the throne.

IN AFRIKAANS
My hoop is gebou op niks minder
As Jesus bloed en geregtigheid
Ek durf nie vertrou die soetste raam
Maar geheel en al vertrou in Jesus naam

My hoop is gebou op niks minder
As Jesus bloed en geregtigheid
Ek durf nie vertrou die soetste raam
Maar geheel en al vertrou in Jesus naam

Christus alleen; hoeksteen
Swak sterk gemaak; in liefde die Verlosser se
Deur die storm, Hy is die Here
Here van almal

Wanneer die duisternis lyk sy gesig weg te steek
Ek rus op Sy onveranderlike genade
In elke hoë en stormagtige storm
My anker hou binnekant die voorhangsel
My anker hou binnekant die voorhangsel

Christus alleen; hoeksteen
Swak sterk gemaak; in liefde die Verlosser se
Deur die storm, Hy is die Here
Here van almal
Hy is die Here
Here van almal

Christus alleen
Christus alleen; hoeksteen
Swak sterk gemaak; in liefde die Verlosser se
Deur die storm, Hy is die Here
Here van almal

Christus alleen; hoeksteen
Swak sterk gemaak; in liefde die Verlosser se
Deur die storm, Hy is die Here
Here van almal

Wanneer Hy kom met trompet klank,
Ag, mag ek dan in Hom te vinde is;
Geklee in sy geregtigheid alleen,
Foutlose staan voor die troon.
I was surprised that, for the most part, the lyrics were understandable. I feel they translated well. There were a few hiccups like with the phrase “weak made strong”, which was translated in “poor strengthened”. “Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness” was translated into “If blood and righteousness of Jesus”, and “cornerstone” (the song’s title) was translated into “keystone” instead which is interesting.
FROM AFRIKAANS
My hope is built on nothing less
If Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

My hope is built on nothing less
If Jesus blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus name

Christ alone; keystone
Poor strengthened; in love the Savior's
Through the storm, he is Lord
Lord of all

When darkness seems to hide his face
I rest on His unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil
My anchor holds within the veil

Christ alone; keystone
Poor strengthened; in love the Savior's
Through the storm, he is Lord
Lord of all
He is the Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone
Christ alone; keystone
Poor strengthened; in love the Savior's
Through the storm, he is Lord
Lord of all

Christ alone; keystone
Poor strengthened; in love the Savior's
Through the storm, he is Lord
Lord of all

When he comes with trumpet sound,
Oh, I may then be found in him;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Flawless standing before the throne.
Keystone | ’kē,stōn |
noun
      -A central stone at the summit of an arch, locking the whole together. 

 

I really enjoyed doing this dda, and now I am even more excited to keep learning about the Afrikaans language. I will be sure to add the song in here somewhere , so those that do knot know it can listen to it if they would like to. I hope all who see this post thoroughly enjoyed its content! Until next time…

Peace & Love,
Richonda

Works Cited:

“Keystone.” The New Oxford American Dictionary , 2nd ed., Oxford University Press, 2005.

Leave a Reply

